The STA “Golden Stack Award” is presented to the process operator who, in the opinion of our members, has made significant efforts to ensure the safety, welfare and comfort of stack testers in the field.  It is hoped that this award will act as a driver to improve conditions on site for stack testers.STA Golden Stack Award

Qualifying Criteria

Minimum standards of safety, facilities and sampling arrangements are laid down in law or in guidance, such as the Environment Agency’s M1 and our own “yellow booklet”.  All process operators should be complying with these as a minimum.  Operators not meeting these standards are not eligible for the award.

The award is designed to recognise those operators who have gone the extra mile to protect and assist our members in their work on site, which is often carried out in demanding and uncomfortable conditions. 


The following aspects of the site/ stack should be considered:

·    Access and facilities;

·    Health and safety;

·    Accommodation and environment;

·    Management involvement.

Previous winners

In the past the award has been presented to;

2002 Hanson Brick, Stewartby, Bedfordshire

2004 SITA, Huddersfield

2005 Lafarge, Cookstown

2007 Veolia, Sheffield

2009 Rugeley Power, Rugeley, Staffs

2013 Tata Steel

2015 E.ON, Blackburn Meadows, Sheffield

The award will be presented at AQE, The Air Quality and Emissions conference and Exhibition dinner that will be held on 24th May 2017.

For more details and nomination form visit